Rome: Day 2

Standard

The second day we were out of the hotel by 9 AM and did not get to sit back down until 6:30 PM.  It was a whirlwind of a day but the most exciting day that I have had studying abroad so far.  Our first stop was to Castel Saint Angelo which was breathtaking and had a beautiful bridge that used to be the only was to get to it called the bridge of angels.  Once we finished there we quickly grabbed lunch and headed over to Saint Peters Basilica.  Once I saw the outside of the church I was taken back and speechless because it is so large and breathtaking.  Little did I know that walking inside would be even more overwhelming and stunning.  On the inside of the church there is no paint and all of the pictures are done by mosaic.  After finishing those two tours we did our own tour of the Vadican Museum and the Sistine Chapel which are just as amazing as Saint Peters Basilica.  I some how managed to muster up some of my dads navigational and map reading skills and lead us back to our hotel where we all passed out until the next day which just lead to even more history.

Saturday 2/16

IMG_5569

Leave a comment